Meeting was called to order by Bill Camp, AAAE President at 5:45 p.m. in the Birch and Willow rooms of the Omni Hotel.

Robert Martin brought greetings on behalf of AIAEE. The 2007 conference will be held May 13-17 in Montana; 2008 conference in Costa Rica.

Deeds moved, Duncan seconded the motion that AAAE add \$1200 to the proposed budget to cover the cost of liability insurance for AAAE and JAE Board of Directors. Motion carries.

T. Murphy gave an updated report on the proposed budget including the \$1200 for insurance, \$3000 for the Opportunity fund, and \$500 for the new faculty meeting at the 2007 AAAE Conference (as proposed by T. Park). A motion was moved and seconded to accept the budget as read by Murphy, motion passed.

Jacque Deeds introduced the AAAE Officers; spouses and other guests in attendance.

T. Parks lead the members in a silent prayer before the meal was served.

James Smith led the Memorial Recognition by lighting a candle for each of the five individuals honored. The five members who will not be forgotten are Joe Paul Bail, Lloyd P. Jacks, Jeffrey W. Moss, Robert R. Price, and Richard F. Stinson.

Poster Presentation Awards were presented by Robin Peiter Horstmeier. The top three Innovative Posters were as follows:

- 1<sup>st</sup> Equipping AgriScience Students With Technologies that Enhance Achievement in Mathematics and Science; James Lindner, Glenn Shinn, Diana Mowen, Shannon Degenhart, & Amy Harder
- 2<sup>nd</sup> Alternative Teacher Certification Program; Katy Groseta, Brian Myers, James Dyer, & Shannon Washburn
- 3<sup>rd</sup> Science With Practice: A College Wide Learning and Work Experience Program in Research and Related Laboratories; Michael Retallick, Charles Steiner, & A. Stull

Research Poster Awards were presented by Robin Peiter Horstmeier. The top three Research Posters were as follows:

- 1<sup>st</sup> Outstanding Poster Influence of Career Exploration Process Behaviors on Agriculture Students Level of Career Certainty; Levon Esters
- $2^{nd}$  Characteristics of Role Models: A Delphi Study of African-American Agriculture Teachers' Perceptions; Chansi Coleman & Greg Miller

- $3^{rd}$  (tie) An Engaging Approach to Faculty Development for Learner-Centered Teaching; Anna Ball & Neil Knoblock
- 3<sup>rd</sup> (tie) There is No Need to Fret; it is Safe to Pet!: Understanding Public Knowledge of Petting Zoo Safety; Moriah Jennings, John Rayfield, Janice Boyce, Scott Burris, Todd Brashears, & Mindy Brashears

Research Paper Presentation Awards were presented by Levon Esters.

- $1^{st}$  Place Interactive agricultural experiences of  $4^{th}$  grade students in the arid southwest: an examination of the impact of hands-on learning experiences as a component of agriculture in the classroom curriculum. Rodney Glassman, Jack Elliot, and James Knight.
- 1<sup>st</sup> Runner-up Does curriculum integration intervention to improve the mathematics achievement of students diminish their acquisition of technical competence? Brian Parr, M. Craig Edwards, and Leising.
- 2<sup>nd</sup> Runner-up Tracking agricultural education graduates' career choice, job satisfaction, and employability skills. Bryan L. Garton and J. Shane Robinson
- JAE Author of the Year for Volume 46 was presented by Jim Conners. 1<sup>st</sup> Place Modeling higher order thinking: the alignment between objectives, classroom discourse, and assessments. Anna L. Ball and Bryan L. Garton.
- 2<sup>nd</sup> Place (Tie) Comparative assessment of student agricultural literacy in selected agriculture in the classroom programs. Seburn L. Pense and James G. Leising.
- $2^{nd}$  Place (Tie) Influence of the organizational environment on the induction stage of teaching. Bradley C. Greiman, Weston D. Walker, and Robert J. Birkenholz.

Life Membership recognition was presented by Gary Moore. Jim Christianson and David Howell were nominated and accepted as Life Members.

Outstanding Early Career Member award was presented by Tracy Hoover. The 2006 recipient was Nick Place of the University of Florida.

Alan A. Kahler Dissertation Award was presented by Dennis Duncan. The 2006 recipient of the award was Scott Burrus of Texas Tech University.

Outstanding Agricultural Educator award was presented by Greg Thompson. This year's recipient was Gary Briers, Texas A & M University.

AAAE Fellow Recognition was given by Ed Osborne. This year's recipients were Gary Briers and Bob Martin.

The annual passing of the gavel was conducted between current President Bill Camp and President-elect Jacque Deeds. After the ceremony J. Deeds challenged the audience to move forward this coming year with passion, integrity, and growth (P.I.G.). The awards dinner adjourned at 7:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Dennis Duncan